What is Ghati? – Do Ghati Muhurat

Do Ghati or Two Ghati is a type of Muhurat. It is a time period of Forty-Eight minutes duration. Generally, Muhurta means the time period of 2 Ghatis. When life starts, it contains lots of auspicious and inauspicious moments in its womb to progress it before it ends on a certain point. Hence the commencement of birth is not under the control of a person, likewise, the commencement of life and commencement of an event with favorable and unfavorable promises occur in life without any control. Therefore, a unit of measuring the commencement of these activities has been introduced in Vedic Astrology, called Muhurta or Two Ghati.

The study of Muhurat is basically the study of the time of commencement of any auspicious and inauspicious moments. Before proceeding towards Do Ghato Muhurat, let’s understand the Ghati first.

What is Ghati?

From the pre-historic era, based on observation, time was measured through the position of the Sun in the sky. As a result, Vedic astrology considers a solar day, i.e. from one sunrise to the next sunrise. Whereas in the modern era, the duration of one day depends on the relative motion of the earth on its own axis and it is being calculated in units like hours, minutes, and seconds. On the other hand, time is measured in Vedic astrology by different divisions named Ghati, Pal, Vipal, Valipta, Para.

1 Day or 24 Hours = 60 Ghatis or 1 Hour = 2.5 Ghatis
1 Ghati = 60 Pala, Kala or Vighati
1 Pala = 60 Vipala
1 Vipala = 60 Valipta
1 Valipta = 60 Para
1 Para = 60 Tatpara

What is Do Ghati Muhurat?

In actuality, 2 Ghati Muhurat is a moment, created by certain positions and combinations of planets containing certain vibrations or promises for any life’s activity. We study Muhurta in order to get an idea about suitable and unsuitable moments to perform any action and then the same things for that particular person too. In short, we can say that Do Ghati Muhurat is the study of time in which auspicious works take place. It is based on the relative positions of the Sun and Moon. From the user’s point of view, It is usually a favorable time to perform any work.

In Brahmanas, Muhurtam indicates the period of time: one-thirtieth of the day or forty-eight minutes

Names of Two Ghati Muhurat

There are 30 Muhurtas defined in Vedic Astrology named as:

Rudra, Ahi, Mitra, Pitru, Vasu, Vara, Viswadeva, Vidhi, Satamukhi, Puruhuta, Vahini, Naktancara, Varuna, Aryama, Bhaga, Girisha, Ajapad, Ahirbudhnya, Pusa, Aswini, Yama, Agni, Vidhatr, Canda, Aditi, Jiva, Visnu, Yumigadyuti, Brahma, Samudram

Variables of Do Ghati Muhurat

Based on the relative speeds of Sun and Moon, there are the following variables of Muhurta:

  • Ayana: It is a time during the year when Sun passes through a certain sign in a certain direction.
  • Month: A month involves 30 days.
  • Nakshatra: There are 27 Nakshatras defined in Hindu Vedic Astrology occupying 13 degrees 20 minutes each in the certain zodiac.
  • Tithi: There are 30 tithis defined in Vedic Astrology, First fifteen belong to the bright half or Shukla Paksha and the other 15 belong to Darker Half or Krishna Paksha.
  • Vaar: Vaar is a day that starts from one sunrise and ends at the next sunrise. There are seven Vaar defined in Vedic Astrology named as Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday.
  • Yoga: It is formed due to the relative positions of the Sun and Moon. There are 27 Yogas defined in Astrology
  • Lagna: It is very prominent while analyzing Muhurta as choosing the proper Lagna describes the nature of the activity.

Vikas Jindal

Jyotish Acharya Vikas Ji can solve all major problems of human life like advising students for higher education, Birth Time Rectification, Problems in Married Life, Chart Matching, Profession and Name correction.

You may also like...